Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer
electric car webinar

30 July 2021, 12 – 1 PM ET
View Event Recording | View Special Issue


Hybrid and electric vehicles are taking shape very rapidly. Key technologies that propel the advancement of electric an hybrid vehicles include novel power electronics devices and topologies, magnetic materials, battery technology, and so on. This webinar will review the past, present, and future of EVs and dive into the key challenges and enabling technologies of the future of EVs.

About the Panelists

Mehrdad Ehsani (Life Fellow, IEEE) is currently the Robert M. Kennedy Professor of electrical engineering at Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, USA. He is the coauthor of more than 400 technical articles, 19 books, and an IEEE standards book, and holds 30 U.S. and EU patents. Prof. Ehsani is a Fellow of SAE. He has won over 130 prize papers and other awards in IEEE and elsewhere, including IEEE-VTS Avant-Garde Award for his contributions to the hybrid electric vehicle technology and the 2003 IEEE Award for Undergraduate Teaching. He has founded and led several IEEE and other international conferences and has served on the governing bodies of the IEEE Power Electronics Society, Industry Applications Society, and Vehicular Technology Society. He is a past Distinguished Lecturer of several IEEE societies, a consultant to over 60 U.S. and international companies and government agencies, and a Registered Professional Engineer in the State of Texas.

Chunting Chris Mi (Fellow, IEEE) received the B.S.E.E. and M.S.E.E. degrees in electrical engineering from Northwestern Polytechnical University, Xi’an, China, in 1985 and 1988, respectively, and the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Toronto, Toronto, ON, Canada, in 2001.

He is currently a Professor and the Chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering at San Diego State University, San Diego, CA, USA, and an Adjunct Professor of electrical and computer Engineering with the University of California at San Diego, La Jolla, CA, USA. He is also the Director of the Department of Energy (DOE)—funded by the Graduate Automotive Technology Education (GATE) Center for Electric Drive Transportation, San Diego State University. Prior to joining SDSU, he was with the University of Michigan, Dearborn, MI, USA, from 2001 to 2015, and General Electric Company from 2000 to 2002. His research interests include electric drives, power electronics, electric machines, electrical and hybrid vehicles, wireless power transfer, and power electronics.

Dr. Mi is a Fellow of the SAE. He was a recipient of the Distinguished Teaching Award and the Distinguished Research Award of the University of Michigan Dearborn. He was a recipient of the 2007 IEEE Region 4 “Outstanding Engineer Award,” the IEEE Southeastern Michigan Section Outstanding Professional Award, and the SAE Environmental Excellence in Transportation (E2T) Award. He was also a recipient of the National Innovation Award and the Government Special Allowance Award from the China Central Government. He received three best paper awards from IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER ELECTRONICS and two Power Electronics Prize Letter Awards. In 2019, he received the IEEE Power Electronics Emerging Technology Award. He was the Chair (2008–2009) and the Vice Chair (2006–2007) of the IEEE Southeastern Michigan Section. He was the General Chair of the 5th IEEE Vehicle Power and Propulsion Conference held in Dearborn, MI, USA, in September 2009. He served on the review panel for the NSF, the U.S. Department of Energy (2007–2010), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada in 2010, the Hong Kong Research Grants Council, the French Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, the Agency for Innovation by Science and Technology in Flanders, Belgium, and the Danish Research Council. He is the Topic Chair of the 2011 IEEE International Future Energy Challenge and the General Chair of the 2013 IEEE International Future Energy Challenge. He is a Distinguished Lecturer (DL) of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society. He is the Guest Editor-in-Chief of IEEE JOURNAL OF EMERGING AND SELECTED TOPICS IN POWER ELECTRONICS—Special Issue on WPT, the Guest Co-Editor-in-Chief of IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER ELECTRONICS— Special Issue on WPT, a Guest Editor of IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INDUSTRIAL ELECTRONICS—Special Issue on Dynamic Wireless Power Transfer, and a Steering Committee Member of the IEEE Transportation Electrification Conference (ITEC-Asian). He is the Program Chair or General Chair of a number of international conferences, including Workshop on Wireless Power Transfer (WoW), IEEE International Electric Vehicle Conference (IEVC), and IEEE International Transportation Electrification Conference—AsiaPacific. He is also the Chair for the IEEE Future Direction’s Transportation Electrification Initiative (TEI) e-Learning Committee and developed an e-learning module on wireless power transfer. He is the General Chair of the IEEE Wireless Power Week, in June 2021, which hosts two conferences: Workshop on Wireless Power sponsored by IEEE PELS and Wireless Power Transfer Conference sponsored by IEEE MTT. He was the Area Editor of IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON VEHICULAR TECHNOLOGY, and an Associate Editor of IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER ELECTRONICS and IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INDUSTRY APPLICATIONS. He is the Guest Editor of PROCEEDINGS OF THE IEEE—Special Issue on Electric and Hybrid Vehicles.