Skip to content Skip to footer

Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany

Brief info

Robert Schober (S'98, M'01, SM'08, F'10) received the Diplom (Univ.) and the Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen-Nuremberg (FAU), Germany, in 1997 and 2000, respectively. From 2002 to 2011, he was a Professor and Canada Research Chair at the University of British Columbia (UBC), Vancouver, Canada. Since January 2012 he is an Alexander von Humboldt Professor and the Chair for Digital Communication at FAU. His research interests fall into the broad areas of Communication Theory, Wireless and Molecular Communications, and Statistical Signal Processing.

Robert received several awards for his work including the 2002 Heinz Maier­ Leibnitz Award of the German Science Foundation (DFG), the 2004 Innovations Award of the Vodafone Foundation for Research in Mobile Communications, a 2006 UBC Killam Research Prize, a 2007 Wilhelm Friedrich Bessel Research Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, the 2008 Charles McDowell Award for Excellence in Research from UBC, a 2011 Alexander von Humboldt Professorship, a 2012 NSERC E.W.R. Stacie Fellowship, a 2017 Wireless Communications Recognition Award by the IEEE Wireless Communications Technical Committee, and the 2022 IEEE Vehicular Technology Society Stuart F. Meyer Memorial Award. Furthermore, he received numerous Best Paper Awards for his work including the 2022 ComSoc Stephen O. Rice Prize. Since 2017, he has been listed as a Highly Cited Researcher by the Web of Science. Robert is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada, and a Member of the German National Academy of Science and Engineering.

Robert served as Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Communications from 2012 to 2015 and as VP Publications of the IEEE Communication Society (ComSoc) in 2020 and 2021. From 2018-2022, he served on the Editorial Board of the Proceedings of the IEEE. Currently, he serves as ComSoc President-Elect.

Back to Editorial Board