Nobel Laureate Authors

Below are Nobel Laureates who published in the Proceedings and their articles.

  • 2014 Nobel Laureates in PhysicsIsamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano and Shuji Nakamura

    Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano and Shuji Nakamura received the 2014 Nobel Prize in Physics "for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources." Read "Impact of Low-Temperature Buffer Layers on Nitride-Based Optoelectronics," coauthored by Amano and Akasaki, " History of Gallium–Nitride-Based Light-Emitting Diodes for Illumination," coauthored by Nakamura, and "GaN-Based p–n Junction Blue-Light-Emitting Devices," by Akasaki.
  • 2012 Nobel Laureate in PhysicsDavid J. Wineland

    David J. Wineland and Serge Haroche received the 2012 Nobel Prize in Physics "for ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems." Read Wineland's article, "Frequency Standards Based on Stored Ions."
  • 2009 Nobel Laureate in PhysicsWillard S. Boyle and George E. Smith

    Willard S. Boyle and George E. Smith received the 2009 Nobel Prize in Physics "for the invention of an imaging semiconductor circuit - the CCD sensor." Read "The Pulsed Ruby Maser as a Light Amplifier," coauthored by Boyle and "A Systems Approach to 1-µm NMOS," coauthored by Smith.
  • 2000 Nobel Laureates in PhysicsZhores I. Alferov, Herbert Kroemer, Jack S. Kilby

    The 2000 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded "for basic work on information and communication technology" with one half jointly to Zhores I. Alferov and Herbert Kroemer "for developing semiconductor heterostructures used in high-speed- and opto-electronics" and the other half to Jack S. Kilby "for his part in the invention of the integrated circuit." Read Alferov's article, "Heterostructures for Optoelectronics: History and Modern Trends," Kroemer's articles, "Heterostructure Bipolar Transistors and Integrated Circuits" and " The Double-Heterostructure Concept: How It Got Started", and Kilby's article, "The Integrated Circuit's Early History."
  • 1997 Nobel Laureate in PhysicsWilliam D. Phillips

    William D. Phillips, Steven Chu, and Claude Cohen-Tannoudji received the 1997 Nobel Prize in Physics "for development of methods to cool and trap atoms with laser light." Read the article, "Laser-Cooled Neutral Atom Frequency Standards," coauthored by Phillips.
  • 1993 Nobel Laureate in PhysicsJoseph H. Taylor Jr

    Joseph H. Taylor Jr. and Russell A. Hulse received the 1993 Nobel Prize in Physics"for the discovery of a new type of pulsar, a discovery that has opened up new possibilities for the study of gravitation." Read Taylor's article, "Millisecond Pulsars: Nature's Most stable Clocks."
  • 1989 Nobel Laureate in PhysicsNorman F. Ramsey

    Norman F. Ramsey received the 1989 Nobel Prize in Physics "for the invention of the separated oscillatory fields method and its use in the hydrogen maser and other atomic clocks." Read his article, "The Past, Present, and Future of Atomic Time and Frequency."
  • 1981 Nobel Laureate in PhysicsNicolaas Bloembergen

    Nicolaas Bloembergen received the 1981 Nobel Prize with Arthur Leonard "for their contribution to the development of laser spectroscopy." Read his article, "Wave Propagation in Nonlinear Electromagnetic Media."
  • 1978 Nobel Laureate in PhysicsArno Allan Penzias

    Arno Allan Penzias and Robert Woodrow Wilson received the 1978 Nobel Prize in Physics "for their discovery of cosmic microwave background radiation." Read Penzias' article, "The Next Fifty Years: Some Likely Impacts of Solid-State Technology."
  • 1973 Nobel Laureate in PhysicsLeo Esaki, Ivar Giaever, Brian David Josephson

    The Nobel Prize in Physics 1973 was divided, one half jointly to Leo Esaki and Ivar Giaever "for their experimental discoveries regarding tunneling phenomena in semiconductors and superconductors, respectively" and the other half to Brian David Josephson "for his theoretical predictions of the properties of a supercurrent through a tunnel barrier, in particular those phenomena which are generally known as the Josephson effects." Read Esaki's article, "Long Journey into Tunneling," Giaever's article, "Electron Tunneling and Superconductivity," and Josephson's article, "The Discovery of Tunnelling Supercurrents."
  • 1972 Nobel Laureate in PhysicsJohn Bardeen

    John Bardeen, Leon Neil Cooper, and John Robert Schrieffer received the 1972 Nobel Prize in Physics "for their jointly developed theory of superconductivity, usually called the BCS-theory." Read Bardeens' "Comments on Implications of Transistor Research."
  • 1971 Nobel Laureate in PhysicsDennis Gabor

    Dennis Gabor received the 1971 Nobel Prize in Physics "for his invention and development of the holographic method." Read his lecture on "Holography, 1948-1971."
  • 1964 Nobel Laureate in PhysicsCharles Hard Townes

    Charles Hard Townes, Nicolay Gennadiyevich Basov, and Aleksandr Mikhailovich Prokhorov received the 1964 Nobel Prize in Physics "for fundamental work in the field of quantum electronics, which has led to the construction of oscillators and amplifiers based on the maser-laser principle." Read the article, "Optics and Photonics: Key Enabling Technologies," coauthored by Townes.
  • 1961 Nobel Laureate in PhysicsRobert Hofstadter

    Robert Hofstadter received the 1961 Nobel Prize in Physics "for his pioneering studies of electron scattering in atomic nuclei and for his thereby achieved discoveries concerning the structure of the nucleons." Read his lecture on "Crystal Counters."
  • 1956 Nobel Laureate in PhysicsJohn Bardeen

    John Bardeen, William Bradford Shockley, and Walter Houser Brattain received the 1956 Nobel Prize in Physics "for their researches on semiconductors and their discovery of the transistor effect." Read Bardeens' "Comments on Implications of Transistor Research."
  • 1947 Nobel Laureate in PhysicsSir Edward Victor Appleton

    Sir Edward Victor Appleton received the 1947 Nobel Prize in Physics "for his investigations of the physics of the upper atmosphere especially for the discovery of the so-called Appleton layer." Read his article, "The Normal E Region of the Ionosphere."
  • 1909 Nobel Laureate in PhysicsGuglielmo Marconi

    Guglielmo Marconi and Karl Ferdinand received the 1909 Nobel Prize in Physics "in recognition of their contributions to the development of wireless telegraphy." Read his article, "Radio Telegraphy."