Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Proceedings of the IEEE has published works of many extraordinary visionaries and continues to attract top researchers and scholars. Armstrong, de Forest, Marconi, Mauchly, and Zworykin are just a few of the esteemed authors highlighted below.

edwin armstrong

Edwin Armstrong

Armstrong received the first Medal of Honor awarded by the Institute of Radio Engineers “in recognition of his work and publications dealing with the action of the oscillating and non-oscillating audion.”

Read his paper on “A Method of Reducing Disturbances in Radio Signaling by a System of Frequency Modulation”

frank conrad

Frank Conrad

Conrad received the 1930 Edison Medal “for his contributions to radio broadcasting and short wave radio transmission.”

Read his paper on “Short-Wave Radio Broadcasting”

lee de forest

Lee de Forest

Lee de Forest received the 1922 Medal of Honor for “his major contributions to the communications arts and sciences, as particularly exemplified by his invention of that outstandingly significant device: the three-electrode vacuum tube, and his work in the fields of radio telephonic transmission and reception.”

Read his paper on “Recent Developments in the Work of the Federal Telegraph Company”

irving langmuir

Irving Langmuir

Langmuir received the 1932 Nobel Prize in recognition of his fundamental contributions to the understanding of surface chemistry.

Read his paper on “The Pure Electron Discharge and its Applications in Radio Telegraphy and Telephony”

guglielmo marconi

Guglielmo Marconi

Marconi received the 1920 Medal of Honor for “his pioneer work in radio telegraphy.”

Read his paper on “Radio Telegraphy”

michael pupin

Michael Pupin

Pupin received the 1924 Medal of Honor for his “fundamental contributions in the field of electrical tuning and the rectification of alternating currents used for signaling purposes.”

Read his paper on “A Discussion on Experimental Tests of the Radiation Law for Radio Oscillators”

frederick terman

Frederick Terman

Terman received the 1950 Medal of Honor “for his many contributions to the radio and electronic industry as teacher, scientist, and administrator.”

Read his paper on “A Brief History of Electrical Engineering Education”

vladimir zworykin

Vladimir Zworykin

Zworykin received the 1951 Medal of Honor “for his outstanding contribution to the concept and development of electronic apparatus basic to modern television.”

Read his paper on “The Iconoscope – A Modern Version of The Electric Eye”